MHSFCA Honors 10 Coaches From Across State

LANSING – Ten coaches in Michigan have been honored by the Michigan High School Football Coaches Association as 2020 coaches of the year across the state.

Rob Zimmermann of DeWitt was selected as the Dream Team Coach of the Year and will be honored on Saturday along with other members of the Dream Team by the MHSFCA and the Michigan Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

Zimmerman led DeWitt to the Division 3 state championship this past weekend at Ford Field, concluding an undefeated season with a 40-30 win over River Rouge, giving Zimmerman his first state championship in 22 years as the Panthers head coach. He was inducted into the MHSFCA Hall of Fame in 2016.

The list of coaches of the year named by the MHSFCA are:

  • Division 1, Ron Bellamy, West Bloomfield (state champion)
  • Division 2, Matt Koziak, Mona Shores (state champion)
  • Division 3, Rob Zimmerman, DeWitt (state champion)
  • Division 4, Cody Mallory, Cadillac (state runner-up)
  • Division 5, Phil Martin, Frankenmuth (state runner-up)
  • Division 6, Pat Collins, Montague (state champion)
  • Division 7, Clint Galvas, New Lothrop (state champion)
  • Division 8, Jerry Schultz, Centreville (state champion)
  • 8-Player, Division 1, Bill Wilharms, Lenawee Christian (state champion)
  • 8-Player, Division 2, Leo Gorzinski, Powers North Central (state champion)

The MHSFCA began its post-season awards in November with the announcement of its all-region teams and all-region coaches of the year. The All-State team was announced in December with the Dream Team being announced this month.

The high school football season came to a close this past weekend with the state championship games in all eight 11-player divisions. The 8-player state finals were held the weekend prior.

The MHSFCA and its members have been devoted to the promotion of high school football since its inception in March 1972. For more information about the organization, visit