Welcome to the Michigan High School Football Coaches Hall of Fame

The Michigan High School Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame officially opened on April 16, 1982. It was a dream that became a reality because of the planning and effort of a committee headed by Ron Holland, Tom Fagan, Chuck Ritter and past MHSFCA presidents.

The Hall of Fame was created to honor and recognize the individuals who have made significant contributions to the game of football in the state. These coaches, players, administrators and community members are largely responsible for the legacy that makes Michigan high school football an important part of our state culture.

Inaugural Hall of Fame Class of 1982

The first inductees to the Hall of Fame were the original association Board of Directors (Left photo) who were inducted at the 1982 coaches clinic. The inaugural class consisted of coaches Roy Allen, Paul Baldwin, Jim Bates, John Blackstock, Bud Breed, Dick Comar, Jerry Cvengros, Dave Driscoll, Elmer Engle, Ken Foust, Art Gillespie, Ron Holland, Rich Jeric, Wayne Melchiori, Ike Muhlenkamp, Jim Ooley, Fred Rademacher, Dutch Schroetenboer, Tom Seroczynski, Jeff Smith, Steve Sonaga, and Jack VerDuin.  

After the ceremonies, legendary coach Bo Schembechler suggested to then Hall of Fame Chair, Tom Fagan, that the association needed to do a “first class” induction ceremony. He offered to host the event in Ann Arbor and secure noteworthy guest speakers.

From that point onward, the University of Michigan has hosted the induction ceremonies with guest speakers that have included coaches Woody Hayes, Duffy Daugherty, Ara Parsegian, Gary Moeller, Lloyd Carr and Rich Rodriguez.

This spring, new Wolverine head coach Brady Hoke gave the keynote address at the 2011 induction ceremonies.

Coach Brady Hoke

Watch Coach Hoke’s speech

On the 10th anniversary of the Hall, the inaugural class was officially re-inducted with a banquet and induction ceremony. The Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony is held each spring in Ann Arbor.

The MHSFCA Wall of Fame

In 2010, the association opened the Wall of Fame at Michigan Stadium.The Wall recognizes over 600 high school football coaches that have earned recognition as members of the association’s Hall of Fame since the first class was inducted in 1982.

The Wall of Fame, located on the inside face of the new southeast tower of Michigan Stadium will be accessible to the 100’s of thousands of football fans attending Michigan home games and whenever the stadium is open to the public. The Wall includes plaques listing each of the Hall of Fame members by the year they were inducted. Current year inductees are represented by individual plaques that include their likeness and accomplishments. These will be removed, given to the individuals and replaced by next year’s inductees in the spring.

Learn more about the Wall of Fame

Criteria for Hall of Fame Membership

The criteria for nomination to the Hall of Fame, established by the Hall of Fame Committee (comprised of the Past Presidents of the Association) is: 100 victories and/or a minimum of 20 years coaching high school related football in the State of Michigan.

Additionally, the Hall of Fame Committee considers: the date the nomination was received, the age, and the health of the nominee. The committee encourages anyone, who knows of potential candidates, meeting the above criteria, to please submit those names to:

2195 Lakeridge Drive
Holland, MI  49424

Or, you can complete the nomination form online.