Hall of Fame Induction ceremony

Hall of Fame History

The Michigan High School Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame opened officially on April 16, 1982.  The Hall of Fame became a reality because of the planning and effort of a committee headed by Ron Holland, Chuck Ritter and many of the MHSFCA past presidents.  The Hall of Fame was established and is maintained by “Gold Brick” contributions from each contributing member school.  Past president Dick Look initiated this program.

The Hall of Fame was then located in the lobby of the University of Michigan’s indoor football practice facility.  At that time, Coach of the Year Recipients, Hall of Fame Inductees, East/West All Star Game Footballs and Pictures, Scholarship Recipients, Jim Crowley Award Recipients, “Gold Brick” Contributing Schools and many other significant and historical items associated with the MHSFCA and High School Football in the State of Michigan were displayed.  At the present time, those items and all new significant accomplishments and recognition are being held in storage anticipating the new Hall of Fame location to be completed.  This due to the remodeling and restructuring of Schembechler Hall and the University’s indoor practice facility.

The first inductees to the Hall of Fame, in 1982, were the original Board of Directors. They were inducted at the 1982 clinic.  The legendary Bo Schembechler, suggested to then Hall of Fame Chair, Tom Fagan, that we needed to do a “first class” induction ceremony and offered to host the event and secure noteworthy guest speakers. Since then, Michigan hosted the induction ceremonies and guest speakers have included the likes of, Woody Hayes, Duffy Daugherty, Ara Parsegian, Gary Moeller and Lloyd Carr. In 1992, the inaugural class was officially re-inducted with a banquet and induction ceremony.  The inaugural class consisted of:  Roy Allen, Paul Baldwin, Jim Bates, John Blackstock, Bud Breed, Dick Comar, Jerry Cvengros, Dave Driscoll, Elmer Engle, Ken Foust, Art Gillespie, Ron Holland, Rich Jeric, Wayne Melchiori, Ike Muhlenkamp, Jim Ooley, Fred Rademacher, Dutch Schroetenboer, Tom Seroczynski, Jeff Smith, Steve Sonaga, and Jack VerDuin.

The Michigan High School Football Coaches Association is extremely proud of the Hall of Fame as it was, and still is, one of the primary purposes for establishing the MHSFCA.