PRINT Bookmark and Share

Detroit Lions Coach of the Year

December 13, 2014 06:20 PM

Detroit, MI—The Detroit Lions have named Dan Rohn of Grand Rapids West Catholic High School the 2014 Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan High School Football Coach of the Year.

Coach Rohn led his Falcons to a 24-20 victory over Lansing Catholic Central on November 29 to win the Division 5 Michigan High School Football State Championship with a 14-0 record.  This was West Catholic’s 2nd straight Division 5 State Championship and their 3rd Division 5 State Championship in 5 years.  The Falcons were also the Division 5 runner-up in 2012.  In his 8th season at West Catholic, Rohn has compiled an 87-17 record and has directed his Falcons to the playoffs in all eight seasons.  Prior to his time at West Catholic, Rohn spent nine years at Fremont, guiding the Packers to their first five playoff appearances in school history.  Rohn’s career record is 143-49 (74.5% winning percentage).  He was named a Detroit Lions High School Football Coach of the Week in 2009. 

High School Football Coach of the Week Program

  Each week throughout the 2014 nine-week high school football regular season, one coach that best develops his players’ character, discipline, and football skill in addition to emphasizing player health and safety in their program, will be recognized for his commitment to the team, school, and community.  The winner is selected by a panel of high school football media members—Mick McCabe (Detroit Free Press), Hugh Bernreuter (Saginaw News), Bret Bakita (WOOD Radio-106.9 FM, ESPN 96.1 FM-Fox 17/Grand Rapids), Scott DeCamp ( and James Cook (Traverse City Record-Eagle).    

This season’s program will award $22,000 to aid in the development and promotion of high school football in the state of Michigan, thanks to contributions from the Detroit Lions, the NFL Foundation and presenting partner, Farm Bureau Insurance of Michigan.

Each winning coach during the regular season received a $2,000 donation to his school’s football program.  All weekly winners will be honored at an awards ceremony during the Lions-Vikings game on December 14.  During the ceremony, the Lions will introduce Rohn as the Michigan High School Football Coach of the Year.  Rohn will receive a $4,000 donation to his school’s football program. 

In addition to the monetary award, all winners will receive a certificate signed by Lions’ head coach Jim Caldwell and National Football League (NFL) commissioner Roger Goodell and a personalized game ball.  As a result of his Coach of the Year honor, Coach Rohn will be automatically nominated for the Don Shula NFL High School Football Coach of the Year Award. 

Currently in its’ 18th year, the Detroit Lions High School Coach of the Week/Year program has awarded $345,000 to high school football programs throughout the state of Michigan.  For more information on the Detroit Lions High School Coach of the Week/Year program, contact Chris Fritzsching, Lions’ Director of Youth Football, at 313-262-2248.

All-Time Coach of the Year recipients:

1997-John Herrington, Farmington Hills Harrison, 1998-Thomas Mach, Detroit Catholic Central, 1999-Don Durrett, Saginaw,2000-Herb Brogan, Jackson Lumen Christi, 2001-John Schwartz, Mendon, 2002-Mike Boyd, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes,2003-Scot Shaw, Three Rivers, 2004-Noel Dean, Lowell, 2005-Jack Pratt, Flint Powers, 2006-Tony Annese, Muskegon, 2007-Jim Reynolds, Detroit King, 2008-Peter Stuursma. East Grand Rapids, 2009-Rich Hulkow, Marshall, 2010-Chris Bell, Lake Orion, 2011-Thomas Wilcher, Detroit Cass Tech, 2012-Terry Hessbrook, Ithaca, 2013-Kurt Richardson, Clarkston, 2014-Dan Rohn, Grand Rapids West Catholic

2014 Coach of the Week recipients:

Week 1-Kevin Townsend, Freeland, Week 2-Dan Boggan, Lansing Sexton, Week 3-Gus Kapolka, Cedar Springs, Week 4-Mark Thomas, South Lyon, Week 5Steve Kersten, Williamston, Week 6-Tom Alward, Goodrich, Week 7-Rob McDaniel, Peck,Week 8-Keith Christnagel, Woodhaven  Week 9-Jim Sparks, Clawson


« Back


© 2021 Michigan High School Football Coaches Association. All Rights Reserved.