PRINT Bookmark and Share

Steve Spicer Award

The Steve Spicer Memorial Team Leadership Award was inaugurated in 1999 by the Michigan High School Football Coaches Association. The award honors high schools throughout the State of Michigan who exemplify the legacy left to us by Steve Spicer, the former head football coach at Fowler High School who was an outstanding coach, teacher, husband, father, and community leader before his untimely battle with cancer took him from us. Steve, who is a member of our Football Coaches Hall of Fame, has an outstanding coaching record along with capturing a state football championship while at Fowler. More importantly however is the fact that he was a great role model for the players he coached and the students he taught.


  • Jerry Angers (Glen Lake)

  • Matt Bird (Grand Ledge)

  • Scott Farley (Leslie)

  • Scott Murray (Garden City)


  • Scott Merchant (Chippewa Valley)

  • Jeff Setzke (Fenton)

  • Al Slamer (Holt)

  • Jim Neumann (Flint Powers)

  • Mark Thomas (South Lyon)




  • Kurt Richardson (Clarkston)

  • Irv Sigler III (Jenison)

  • Noel Dean (Lowell)

  • Jason Leonard (Kingsley)

  • Jason Kiss (Vassar)

  • Jason Couch & Curt Rienas (Romeo)


  • Mike Boyd (SaginawNouvel)

  • Todd Kangas (Manistique)

  • Aaron Metz (Howell)

  • Jim Webb (Cadillac)

  • Mike Zdebski (Walled Lake Western)


  • Jack Schugars (Muskegon Oakridge0

  • Mark Thomas (South Lyon)

  • Steve Wilson (Fruitport)

  • Larry Maki (Trout Creek)


  • Mike Glennie (Saline)

  • Todd Laventure (Caro)

  • Mike Zdebski (Walled Lake Western)

  • Rob Zimmerman (DeWitt)


  • Luke Ethington (Breckenridge)

  • Jack Farley (Jackson)

  • Dave Larkin (Jenison)

  • Mike Powell (Warren Cousino)

  • Mark Raczkowski (East Jackson)

  • Chris Myers (Hamilton)


  • Rod Baker (Wyondotte Roosevelt)

  • Ken Schmidt (Waterford Mott)

  • Matt Stapleton (Frankfort)

  • John VanWagoner (St. Joseph)

  • Tim Wooer (Kingsley)


  • Jim Venia (Marysville)

  • Dave Lawrence (Mattawan)

  • Kurt Faust (Midland  Dow)

  • Dave Janicki (Niles)

  • Brad Grayvold (Norway)


  • Eddie Ostipow (Charlotte)

  • Craig Healy (Clio)

  • Tom Barbieri (Dexter)

  • Jack Schugars (Muskegon Oakridge)

  • Kelly Luplow (Clare)


  • Matt Prisk (Traverse City West)

  • Steve Wilson (Fruitport)

  • Mike Zdebski (Walled Lake Western)

  • Jim Venia (Marysville)

  • George Porrett (Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Prep.)


  • Vince LeVeille (Vassar)

  • Noel Dean (Lowell)

  • Bob Scheloske (South Lyon)

  • Dusty Fairfield (Ravenna)

  • Jim McDougal (Birmingham Groves)

 1999 (1st Year for Award)

  • Ted Wildermuth (Marysville)

  • Rod Sorge (Ann Arbor Huron)

  • Bobby Ross (Detroit Lions)

  • Ted Haight (Ionia)








© 2017 Michigan High School Football Coaches Association. All Rights Reserved.