FOOTBALL COACHES ANNOUNCE HALL OF FAME CLASS

April 26, 2021

For Immediate Release

LANSING – The Michigan High School Football Coaches Association has announced its 2021 Hall of Fame Class.

The Hall of Fame induction and banquet will be held in the summer of 2022 in conjunction with the annual MHSFCA East-West All-Star Game. The venue will be announced later. Once inducted, each coach will have their Hall of Fame plaque displayed at the University of Michigan.

Chosen for the Hall of Fame are:

- Rick Applin started coaching in 1971 and is still active. He has coached at Fenton, Clio, Dexter, Ann Arbor Pioneer, and Boyne City.
- Jeff Bisel, retired in 2012 after 46 years coaching, including 24 as head coach. He coached at St. James and Bay City All Saints.
- Tony Blankenship retired in 2018 after 20 years coaching, including 16 as a head coach. He
 coached at Detroit Murray Wright, Detroit Redford, Detroit Southwestern, Detroit Denby and
 Muskegon Heights.
- George W. Gardy, who started coaching in 1972, retired in 2010. He coached 38 years as an assistant and head coach at Elkton-Pigeon-Bayport.
- Andre Harlan remains active in coaching after starting in 1994. He spent 27 years coaching at Detroit Murray Wright, Detroit Frederick Douglas, Detroit Southwestern and Detroit Western International.
- Dcn. Dave Lawrence started coaching in 1979 and spent 31 years coaching. Before passing away
 in 2020, Lawrence coached at Ypsilanti, Ann Arbor Father Gabriel Richard, Brighton, Mattawan,
 and Dexter.
- David Marsh remains active in coaching. He started coaching in 1991 and has spent his entire career in Brighton as an assistant coach.
- Bob "Ondo" Ondrovick began coaching in 1972 at Tecumseh High School and spent 32 years there before coaching the last nine years at Ottawa Lake-Whiteford.
- Daniel Ristau retired from coaching in 2019 after 24 years as an assistant coach at Walled Lake,
 Geisler, and Smart middle schools.
- Bill Santilli began coaching in 1992 and retired in 2013 from Crystal Falls Forest Park.
- Chris Schrauben has spent 38 years coaching at Portland St. Patrick, Ionia, and Portland.
- Dave Schwartz started coaching in 1990 and has spent time at Mount Pleasant, Corunna, Essexville Garber, and Saginaw Nouvel.
- Robert E. Snell Jr. began his coaching career in 1981 and has spent 40 years coaching at Riverview Gabriel Richard and Redford Thurston.
- Tom Walentowski retired in 2016. He spent all 32 years coaching at Ida, including 25 as head coach.

"The coaches selected this year are another great example of individuals who had or are still having a tremendous impact on the lives of student-athletes from across the state," said Scott Farley, executive director of the MHSFCA. "Coaches do not get into the profession to become hall of famers, but it is a great reward for those who leave a lasting impact on the game."

The induction ceremony typically would be held this summer but has been postponed due to Covid-19 restrictions.

The MHSFCA Hall of Fame is for coaches who have coached in the State of Michigan at the high school or related level for 20 years or more or have 100 or more wins as a varsity head coach. Some of the coaches chosen for the 2021 class also have college or professional coaching experience or have coached in other states.